Cricket Information

ICC World Twenty20

ICC World Twenty20

A Brief History Of ICC World Twenty20

The inaugural World twenty20 is a cricket tournament and takes place in South Africa in 2007 the event is organised by the sport's governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC). The championship will be held around every two years. Future tournaments will be held England in 2009, Sri Lanka in 2012 and Bangladesh in 2014

The tournament is in the group format, with 4 groups of 3 teams playing each other once. The top two teams then progress to the quarter finals, then it is straight knock-out. The ten Test-playing teams automatically qualified for the tournament, while the other two teams qualified from the World Cricket League event in January and February.
Previous Winners Of ICC World Twenty20

Sri Lanka
West Indies
South Africa

Pakistan 139/2 bt Sri Lanka 138/6 by 8 wickets
India 157-5 bt Pakistan 152 by five runs