World Rally Championship

World Rally Championship Rallies

Rally Season information

The World Rally Championship (WRC) is a rallying series organised by the FIA, culminating with a champion driver and manufacturer. The driver's championship and manufacturer's championship are separate championships, but based on the same point system. The competition first received the designation of WRC in 1973. The sport's commercial rights are administered by International Sportsworld Communicators.

The Championship currently features 16 rallies and production-based 2.0 L turbocharged four-wheel drive cars built to World Rally Car regulations racing across tarmac, gravel and snow.

Norway is a new round introduced to the championship, along with Ireland and the re-introduction of Portugal. Cyprus and Turkey are the rounds to be replaced. The Rally Australia will not be run, but it will return in 2008 and will be relocated to the state of Queensland