UK Racecourse Information

Newmarket Racecourse

Racecourse Information
Welcome To Newmarket Racecourse
Racing’s headquarters is home to two of the premier racecourses in the UK - The July Racecourse and the Rowley Mile Racecourse. Top class racing is assured along with the opportunity to enjoy the superb facilities of the Millennium Grandstand or the garden party atmosphere of the July Racecourse.
Contact Details
Newmarket Racecourse
Address
Newmarket Racecourses
Westfield House
The Links
Newmarket
Suffolk
CB8 0TG
Telephone
01638 675500
Fax
01638 663044
Travel Information
Local Transport Links
By Road
From London, take the M11 and exit at Junction 9 to take the A11 dual carriageway. Leave the A11 at Six Mile Bottom and follow the road to Newmarket. The A1 is helpful from the North and South, and the A14 links Felixstowe with the M1 and M6.
By Rail
Trains run from Liverpool Street or Kings Cross to Cambridge from where a courtesy bus links direct with the racecourse
Railway Station
Newmarket Railway Station 1.1 miles (1.8 km)
Airport
Cambridge 9 miles (14.4 km)
By Air
Landing at the course by prior arrangement only.
Map and Route Finder
Route Finder

Enter your starting postcode or address:




Directions and route plan will be displayed on the google maps pages, from here you can print, email and save the map.
Facilities
Betting
There are Tote and bookmaker facilities throughout the course.
Parking
There is free parking around the course. Preferential parking is available in the Day Members’ car park at a charge of £5 per car
Children
Children under 16 can enter for free on race only days when accompanied by an adult. A crèche is always available for fixtures on the July Course and some fixtures on the Rowley Mile. There is a fully equipped playground on both courses
Disabled
Good viewing and toilet facilities
Enclosures And Grandstands
Members
Tickets:
£18- £35
Food And Drink
At the Rowley Mile course, options in the Stand include the Birdcage Bar, Millennium Bar and the Millennium Lounge which serves teas, coffees and light snacks. The Champions Gallery is a 380 seat restaurant with prime viewing. Finally there is the Bistro serving wines, champagnes and a selection of choices from light snacks to 3 course meals and the Cellar Bar. At the July Course, the July Restaurant and Bistro are both popular. There are also a wide range of bars, many of them open air.
Viewing
With the best facilities, racegoers get the best view of the Winning Post and there is a balcony with views over the Winner’s Enclosure and the Parade Ring. You can also access all other parts of the course
Dress
Smart dress is required. Although jackets and ties are not obligatory, racegoers wearing denim, t-shirts and trainers will not gain entry to the enclosure.
Grandstand and Paddock
Tickets:
£13- £20
Food And Drink
At the Rowley Mile course you’ll find the Devil’s Dyke Café on the ground floor offering snacks and all day breakfasts, soups and sandwiches. There are also a wide range of bars including the Paddock Bar overlooking the Parade Ring. The Paddock Food Court offers a range of mobile catering units offering fish and chips, seafood, doughnuts, oriental foods etc. At the July Course, there are three bars including the Fountain Bar, a large indoor bar and betting hall. The Abernant Bar is a lively open air bar and food court and the Paddock Bar offers a collection of bars and mobile catering units
Viewing
The grandstand provides views of the racecourse. From this Enclosure it is possible to access the Parade Ring and Winner’s Enclosure
Dress
Racegoers in the Grandstand and Paddock Enclosure usually dress smartly. Smart shorts and jeans are acceptable but bare tops are not.
Family
Tickets:
£5 - £7
Food And Drink
The Family Enclosure offers a range of mobile unit food stands offering snacks and hot and cold drinks.
Viewing
Although furthest from the Winning Post, there are temporary stands to view from. However you are unable to view the Winner’s Enclosure or the Parade Ring from here.
Dress
Casual dress is standard in the family enclosure. It is important to dress for the weather forecast and to be aware that some areas of the course will involve walking on grass
Course Details
Flat Course - Rowley Course
Newmarket Racecourse Rowley Course
Effect Of Draw
Any advantage in the draw is dependent on the position of the stalls



Right-handed 2m2f Cesarewitch Course turning into undulating 1m2f straight. Uphill final furlong exposes stamina weaknesses. Wide and galloping; good test.
Flat Course - July Course
Newmarket Racecourse July Course
Effect Of Draw
No significant advantage



July course is 2 miles 24 yards, with right-handed bend at halfway, the first mile being part of the Cesarewitch course, the last the straight Bunbury Mile. All races upto a mile are on straight course. Undulating, rising the last furlong to the post
Fixtures
2013
Date
17/04/2013 - Wednesday
18/04/2013 - Thursday
04/05/2013 - Saturday
05/05/2013 - Sunday
16/05/2013 - Thursday
17/05/2013 - Friday
18/05/2013 - Saturday
07/06/2013 - Friday
08/06/2013 - Saturday
21/06/2013 - Friday
22/06/2013 - Saturday
28/06/2013 - Friday
29/06/2013 - Saturday
11/07/2013 - Thursday
12/07/2013 - Friday
13/07/2013 - Saturday
19/07/2013 - Friday
20/07/2013 - Saturday
26/07/2013 - Friday
27/07/2013 - Saturday
02/08/2013 - Friday
03/08/2013 - Saturday
09/08/2013 - Friday
10/08/2013 - Saturday
15/08/2013 - Thursday
16/08/2013 - Friday
17/08/2013 - Saturday
23/08/2013 - Friday
24/08/2013 - Saturday
21/09/2013 - Saturday
26/09/2013 - Thursday
27/09/2013 - Friday
28/09/2013 - Saturday
05/10/2013 - Saturday
12/10/2013 - Saturday
23/10/2013 - Wednesday
01/11/2013 - Friday
02/11/2013 - Saturday
Race Type
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
More Information
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Evening
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Evening
Afternoon
Evening
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Evening
Afternoon
Evening
Afternoon
Evening
Afternoon
Evening
Afternoon
Afternoon
Evening
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon