UK Racecourse Information

Sandown Racecourse

Racecourse Information
Welcome To Sandown Racecourse
Sandown Park is a unique racing experience; a stunning location, the course’s famous hill finishes combine to create an environment full of excitement and nail biting close finishes. You can soak up an electric atmosphere 26 times a year with our Jump and Flat racing seasons. The pinnacle of the calendar is the Gold Cup Meeting in April.
Contact Details
Sandown Racecourse
Address
Sandown Park Racecourse
Portsmouth Road
Esher
Surrey
KT10 9AJ
Telephone
01372 463072
Fax
2
Travel Information
Local Transport Links
By Road
The best route from London is to take the A3. Alternatively from the M25 turn off at Junction 10 and follow the A3 back towards London for 2 miles until the junction with the A307, where the course is well sign-posted.
By Rail
Race goers can take a train to Esher station which is a 10 min walk to the racecourse. It takes approximately 25 minutes to get to Esher from London Waterloo and trains leave in the afternoon approximately every 30 minutes. There are trains approximately every 15 minutes when going to an evening meeting.
Tube Station
Richmond 6.7 miles (10.8 km)
Railway Station
Esher Railway Station 0.6 miles (1 km)
Airport
Heathrow 7.8 miles (12.6 km)
By Air
Helicopters can land at the racecourse by prior agreement.
Map and Route Finder
Route Finder

Enter your starting postcode or address:




Directions and route plan will be displayed on the google maps pages, from here you can print, email and save the map.
Facilities
Betting
There are Tote, Coral and bookmaker facilities across the course
Parking
There is plenty of free parking
Children
Children 16 and under can enter for free when accompanied by an adult. There is a family picnic area in the Park Enclosure and a large playground. There is also a free crèche for the Under 5's.
Disabled
There are good facilities at Sandown Park including toilets, viewing platforms, reserved parking and access ramps to all areas.
Enclosures And Grandstands
Premier
Tickets:
£22 -£24 (Gold Cup and Eclipse Day £35)
Food And Drink
A full range of bars and restaurants. The Tingle Creek Restaurant and Bar has a full A la carte menu. The Wheelers Bar and Restaurant serves a selection of seafood and a full bar. The bar remains open for 2 hours after racing. The Chasers Bar serves a selection of bar snacks and bottled beer, the bars stays open 2 hours after racing.
Viewing
The best views from the stand of the Winning Post and access to all the course facilities.
Dress
Smart casual, no sports shorts, football shirts and no ripped, torn or cut denim.
Grandstand
Tickets:
£15 -£17(Gold Cup and Eclipse Day £20)
Food And Drink
The Grandstand has a food court offering a selection of traditional dishes and premium sandwiches, tea and coffee with extensive seating. There are a number of bars including the Sports Bar near the Parade Ring and the Grandstand View Bar which also offers food and hot drinks. There are also a number of mobile catering units to choose from.
Viewing
From the Grandstand there are full views of the course and access to the Parade Ring and Winner’s Enclosure
Dress
Course Details
Flat Course
Sandown Racecourse Flat Course
Effect Of Draw
None



Right-handed oval of 1m5f with 4f uphill run-in. Essentially galloping. Separate diagonal 5f also uphill
National Hunt Course
Sandown Racecourse National Hunt Course



Right-handed with stiff uphill finish. Chase course tricky, especially for novices. Hurdles run on flat course. Circuit 1m5f.
Fixtures
2013
Date
05/01/2013 - Saturday
02/02/2013 - Saturday
15/02/2013 - Friday
22/02/2013 - Friday
08/03/2013 - Friday
09/03/2013 - Saturday
26/04/2013 - Friday
23/05/2013 - Thursday
30/05/2013 - Thursday
06/06/2013 - Thursday
14/06/2013 - Friday
15/06/2013 - Saturday
05/07/2013 - Friday
06/07/2013 - Saturday
17/07/2013 - Wednesday
24/07/2013 - Wednesday
25/07/2013 - Thursday
31/07/2013 - Wednesday
08/08/2013 - Thursday
30/08/2013 - Friday
31/08/2013 - Saturday
13/09/2013 - Friday
18/09/2013 - Wednesday
09/11/2013 - Saturday
06/12/2013 - Friday
07/12/2013 - Saturday
27/04/2013 - Saturday
Race Type
Jump
Jump
Jump
Jump
Jump
Jump
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Flat
Jump
Jump
Jump
Mixed
More Information
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Evening
Evening
Evening
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Evening
Evening
Afternoon
Evening
Evening
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon
Afternoon