Rugby Union Information

Rugby World Cup

Rugby World Cup

A Brief History Of Rugby World Cup

In June 1983 Australia proposed a World Cup and put itself as host. New Zealand put forward it's case in March 1984.  At that meeting The IRB instigated a World Cup feasibility study. This was a major breakthrough. Australia & New Zealand formed a joint working committee and the study began on the 1st of December 1984.

The IRB then met again in Paris on 20-21 March 1985, this meeting turned out to be crucial to the Rugby World Cup concept. The voting of the IRB members remains a secret, however it is not that big of a secret. It is & was no secret that England, Scotland, Ireland & Wales were opposed to the idea. Australia, New Zealand & France were in favour. Eight votes were needed to win & South Africa's vote was vital. With the full knowledge that politics would keep South Africa out of the event, Danie Craven & Fritz Eloff voted in favour. This meant that there was a stalemate, but then John Kendall-Carpenter of England broke ranks and voted for the World Cup, and then following this the Welsh vote also moved.

The Rugby World Cup was approved by 10 votes to 6. It would take place in Australia and New Zealand from the 22 May to the 20 June 1987.
The Rugby World Cup was born.
Previous Winners Of Rugby World Cup

South Africa
UK & France
Australia & New Zealand
South Africa 15 - 6 England
England 20 - 17 Australia
Australia 35 - 12 France
South Africa 15 - 12 New Zealand
Australia 12 - 6 England
New Zealand 29 - 9 France